Photograph of Yonex Sunrise PBC Badminton Ranking championships 2016 Finalists and other prize winners with dignitaries

The Yonex Sunrise PBC Badminton Ranking championships 2016 organised by Panjim Badminton Club in collaboration with Goa Badminton Association(GBA) and the Sports Authority of Goa(SAG) culminated at the Indoor stadium, Campal, Panaji during a finals which had many upsets and excitement galore.


Aashrun Gautam emerged double crown winner winning the Junior Boys singles titles(U17 & U19) while Anjana Kumari walked away with the Junior Girls(U19) singles title. Anjana , the shuttler from Vasco, who too was in pursuit of a double crown was however halted by Manjushri Raut who upset her in Girls U17 event. In Under 15 Boys singles finals, Sushil Nayak avenged his loss in the last tournament to register a comprehensive win over Shourya Joshi, a Goa player who trains at the Prime Star Sports Academy in Dubai. Shourya however had his consolation with a straight sets win over Rudra Dukle in the Boys Under 13 finals. In Under 15 girls, Lydia Barreto defeated Yasmin Sayed in yet another upset. Top seed Arshia Gautam won the Under 13 Girls with a comfortable straight sets win over second seed Siya Kakodkar. Prizes were awarded to the winners, runners-up and the losing semi-finalists. On the occasion, Panjim Badminton Club felicitated its founding member Deepak Mayekar for the services rendered to the club and achievements in badminton. Roy Athaide and Vinayak Kamat were the Chief officials for the championship and were assisted by Pradosh Silimkhan, Tukaram Kalangutkar, Shashank Desai, Rahul Chandrashekar, Nilesh Kunkalkar, Frederick Fernandes and Harsimran Singh.

Yonex sunrise PBC winners
1st Place Prize Winners – Standing Left to Right Shourya Joshi(Winner – U13 Boys), Sushil Nayak(Winner – U15 Boys), Arshia Gautam(Winner – U13 Girls), Anjana Kumari(Winner- U19 Girls), Lydia Barreto(Winner – U15 Girls), Manjushri Raut(Winner – U17 Girls), Aashrun Gautam(Winner U17 & U19 Boys)

Mr. Vivek Zadoo(Regional Manager, Yonex Sunrise) was the chief guest for the occasion. Mr. Ashok Menon, Director of Fire and Emergency Services, Mr. Narahar Thakur, GBA Secretary, and PBC office bearers Custodio Araujo (Advisor), Sarfraz Sheikh, President and Sandeep Heble, Secretary graced the Prize distribution occasion.

Following are the results of the finals:


Under 13 Girls

Arshia Gautam bt Siya Kakodkar 21-4, 21-6

Semis – Rhucha Bhobe and Manpreet Kaur


Under 13 Boys

Shourya Joshi bt Rudra Dukle 21-11, 21-17

Semis – Aashutosh Dhavalikar and Yash Halarnkar


Under 15 Girls

Lydia Barreto bt Yasmin Sayed 13-21, 21-11, 24-22

Semis – Rhea Mallya and Sachi Dhavalikar


Under 15 Boys

Sushil Nayak bt Shourya Joshi 21-8, 21-19

Semis – Aashutosh Dhavalikar and Tejas Tendulkar


Under 17 Girls

Manjushri Raut bt Anjana Kumari 21-12, 19-21, 27-25

Semis – Lydia Barreto and Yasmin Sayed


Under 17 Boys

Aashrun Gautam bt Yash Kunkoliekar 25-27, 21-3, 21-7

Semis – Mehul Jirage and Arjun Fallary


Under 19 Girls

Anjana Kumari bt Anar Singbal 21-13, 15-21, 21-14

Semis – Emilia Silveira and Manjushri Raut


Under 19 Boys

Aashrun Gautam bt Yash Kunkoliekar 21-7, 21-6

Semis – Krishnank Fallary and Tejan Fallary