The Yonex Sunrise PBC Badminton Ranking championships 2016 began on Wednesday at the Indoor stadium, Campal, Panaji with close to 200 of Goa’s top shuttlers taking part.  The sporting extravaganza got off to a glittering start with CCP Councillor Shekhar Degvekar and Ex Principal Conservator of forests  Richard De Souza, picking up badminton rackets and trying their hands at a few points, much to the delight of the audience of young players.  Later, the dignitaries greeted the youngsters, encouraging them with words of motivation.

Yonex Sunrise PBC Badminton Championships
CCP Councillor Shekhar Degvekar and Ex principal Conservator of Forests, Richard D’ Souza greeting the young participating players.

The championships will be held over a period of 4 days with the semis scheduled on Day 3 and finals on Day 4, i.e. July 9. During the 4 day games, badminton players who have converged from all over Goa will compete in the categories of in Boys and Girls Singles in under 13, under 15, under 17 and under 19 age groups.

An added attraction at the venue is the racket gutting/ stringing stall which is put up by Yonex Sunrise to support Goa’s badminton players for keeping their racquets precisely strung, which will enable them to perform at their optimum best. Other essential Yonex equipment and merchandise is available also at special discounted rates.

Pic 3 - Goa State Players
Goa’s young Players before their matches

Following are brief results of Day 1:

Under 13 Boys Singles

Rudra Dukle bt Aryaman Saraf 21-9, 21-9

Shourya Joshi  bt Soham Naik 21-3, 21-1

Aashutosh Dhavalikar bt Ayaan Beig 21-8, 21-9

Yash Halarnkar  bt Mohammed Sohail 21-7, 21-8

Shardul Kenkre bt Shlok Sadhale 21-7, 21-3

Sohan Chodankar bt Sridhar Kamat 21-12, 21-10

Om Parodkar bt Luis Sylvester21-10, 21-4

Aryan Kate bt Hetav Angle 21-9, 21-12

Ayush Pathak bt Yashodhan Gaunekar 21-9, 21-4

Rudra Phadte bt Salil Deshpande 21-9, 21-10

Gandhar Gaunekar bt A Madhav Ainesh 21-7, 21-8

Sarvadnya Khandeparkar bt Vyaas Rodrigues 21-14, 21-12

Sai Kunkalienkar  bt Nihal Savoikar

Ashraf Agha bt Parth Sawant 21-8, 21-15

Yohann Mayekar bt Sohan Bicholkar 21-12, 21-12

Under 13 Girls Singles

Siya Kakodkar bt Hena Jamuddin 21-1, 21-1

Andrea Kalavampara bt Nitya Gupta 21-2, 21-5

Manpreet Kaur  bt Marvella Barreto 21-1, 21-1

Soumya Deshpande bt Khushi Vishwakarma 21-6, 21-8

Rhea Kanji bt Jiya Kamat 21-3, 21-5

Vaishnavi Arsekar bt Disha Tendulkar 21-1, 21-5

Girija Naik bt Siya Dhavaskar 21-18, 21-16

Zanaida Fernandes bt Patricia Fernandes 21-12, 21-18

Pearl Colvalcar bt Darshika Chodankar 21-3, 21-1

Misa Rodrigues bt Sanjana Talkar 21-10, 21-11